Tracking 25995 objects as of 18-Aug-2022
HD Live streaming from Space Station
objects crossing your sky now

25-ton Chinese rocket debris crashes to Earth over Indian Ocean


25-ton Chinese rocket debris crashes to Earth over Indian Ocean A big piece of Chinese space junk has crashed back to Earth. The 25-ton (22.5 metric tons) core stage of a Long March 5B rocket reentered Earth's atmosphere over the Indian Ocean this afternoon (July 30), ending its brief but controversial orbital stay. "#USSPACECOM can confirm the People’s Republic of China (PRC) Long March 5B (CZ-5B) reentered over the Indian Ocean at approx 10:45 am MDT [12:45 p.m. EDT; 1645 GMT] on 7/30," the U.S. Space Command announced via Twitter today (opens in new tab). "We refer you to the #PRC for further details on the reentry’s technical aspects such as potential debris dispersal + impact location."   More



(Source: Space.com - Jul 31)

comments powered by Disqus