Tracking 23726 objects as of 24-Sep-2021
HD Live streaming from Space Station
objects crossing your sky now

Farewell, Pirs; ISS module decommissioned, set for destructive reentry


Farewell, Pirs; ISS module decommissioned, set for destructive reentry After nearly 20 years in orbit serving as a docking port and airlock for the Russian segment of the International Space Station (ISS), the Pirs module — also called Stykovochny Otsek 1, or Docking Compartment 1 (DC-1) — will become the first habitable element of the station to be decommissioned and permanently removed from the orbital complex. Under the plan, Pirs will be undocked from the nadir port of the Zvezda service module at 06:56 EDT / 10:56 UTC on Monday, July 26 ahead of a fiery destruction in Earth’s atmosphere at 10:51 EDT / 14:51 UTC later that day.   More



(Source: NASASpaceFlight.com - Jul 26)

comments powered by Disqus