Tracking 19219 objects as of 19-Jul-2018
HD Live streaming from Space Station
objects crossing your sky now

After foggy departure, it’s clear sailing to Mars for InSight lander


After foggy departure, it’s clear sailing to Mars for InSight lander Making a fiery climb into a foggy sky Saturday over California’s Central Coast, a United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket dispatched NASA’s InSight lander on a 301-million-mile voyage to Mars with a package of European-built instruments to probe the inside of the Red Planet. The billion-dollar robotic mission took off at 4:05 a.m. PDT (7:05 a.m. EDT; 1105 GMT) Saturday from Space Launch Complex 3-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base, a secure military post northwest of Los Angeles that had never before hosted a launch to another planet.   More



(Source: SpaceFlight Now - May 6)

comments powered by Disqus